So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

Daily Archives: December 27, 2009

Stick to the gameplan

I find that when I make mistakes waiting tables (and I certainly still do, even with all of my experience),  it’s because I get out of my routine.

It might be writing something on my captain’s pad out of its usual place.

It might be trying to cut a corner in service.

It might be not listening to my “inner waiter”.

In any case, it’s important for new servers especially to establish a routine. Keep the abbreviations consistent. Put all of your order writing in a reliable order. Don”t cut corners unless it’s absolutely necessary. Don’t try to reinvent the wheel. And stay absolutely focused even in the face of tall weeds or adversity.

Above all, don’t be a hero. It’s a team game.

Oldie But Goodie

In the spirit of the holiday season, here’s a post from my second month.

I think it captures the spirit of the season.

Enjoy (again, if you’re read it previously):

http://teleburst.wordpress.com/2009/05/31/sometimes-its-the-little-things/

New link added – Server Not Slave

Formerly called “You’re My Shadow Today”, this is a blog that I’ve been meaning to add for a while.

Witty, stylish and practical, this blog also allows guest commentators as well.

This is another blogger exploring book possibilities.  Waiter Rant has certainly opened the door to possibilities, hasn’t it?  I’m surprised that there haven’t been more books on the subject on local bookshelves considering the rich and spicy world of restaurants. There certainly haven’t been many mass market guides to waiting tables (there are some slender volumes and some hefty “professional” volumes available as special orders and there haven’t been many “slice of life” things either.

In any case, this is a blog that should be followed by every waiter.

Look for it shortly in ye ole blogroll.

http://servernotslave.wordpress.com/

And yes, I like the “official” name change.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers