So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

Clever and easy way to track your tips

http://www.mycarprojects.net/

Yep, you saw that right – MyCarProjects.net.

Huh?

They have a tracker for miles per gallon which would work great for tracking tips, as you can view a graph online. You do have to put in “Miles Driven” and “Gallons Bought” but I just put 1 in each one.  I don’t worry about it figuring out MPG as I’m just tracking dollar amount. I use it not so much for actual dollar tracking, but I’m trying to establish baseline weekly, monthly and seasonal trends.

They have an Android app that ties into the web site. You can’t view a graph on your phone yet, but you can access it online. There have been a few glitches here and there with the interface between the Android app and the online site, but they are mostly in the various car modules and updating between the two (they are continuing to refine the whole thing, but if you just use it for tracking tips online, they are pretty much non-issues).

It happens to be a pretty good way to run a car log as well.

Sure, you could set up an Excel spreadsheet to track your tips (and some of you might have already done that) but this is a pretty simple way to do it. It’s free as of this writing but I’d suggest donating a little bit to the developer in order to encourage him and to keep it from becoming a paid site. Several “car log” sites are free for some log functions but make you pay for important functions like MPG tracking. This one is totally free and it’s a pretty clean solution to auto log-keeping.

I have no connection with this site other than being a user. I have no idea if the developer does any data mining or anything like that, so please use this site at your own risk. I don’t see a lot of danger in it myself.

Oh yeah, it’s really easy for me since I declare all of my tips. I just pull the figure off of my pay stub (my figures are bi-weekly). If you are someone who doesn’t declare all of your tips, you’ll still have to keep track of them separately and add them to your declared tips to get an accurate tracking. And no, I’m not going to take this opportunity to scold you for not doing the right thing (oh wait, I guess I just did!)

2 responses to “Clever and easy way to track your tips

  1. Nick Boodris December 9, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    Usefull information. Nice post.

  2. Jason April 18, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    Very useful hack to a useful tool. I like it for both uses.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

