So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

Favorite Mother’s Day post from Waiter Rant

http://waiterrant.net/?p=266

Hope you enjoyed that as much as I do. Fortunately, my restaurant isn’t quite as crazy, but as I type this, I feel off-kilter because we are only open for two Sunday lunches a year – Easter and Mother’s Day. My whole carefully constructed sense of rhythm has been disrupted.  Sundays are for kicking back and watching This Week With George Stephanopolis and, during football season, listening to Chris Berman and crew tell me how the football games are going to go. Then, normally it’s Tennessee Titans at 12 and I start getting ready for work around the end of the 3rd quarter (this year’s going to be weird because the Titans are going to be playing more 3pm games – that’s going to weird me out as well).

So now, after closing last night and not getting home until around 12:30, I’m blearily dragging myself around, bemoaning the fact that I’m one of the only 3 servers that’s going to work lunch *and* dinner today. But it’s alright, I guess. I start the shift with one of my call parties and I don’t actually have to go in until an hour later than our normal lunch service. Plus, they gave me off for my normal Monday lunch gig,  so I guess I can count my blessings, right?

To all mothers out there, enjoy your day! You’ve earned it. And I’ll be honored to serve you today.

Leave a Reply

