So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

My hero – Jon Stewart!

Is Jon Stewart a good tipper?

Hell yes he is (as I would suspect – he’s one of my favorite peeps in the world). At least according to one NYC cabbie, he is:

http://newyorkhack.blogspot.com/2006/06/handicap.html

That’s what I’m talkin’ about. Oh, snap!

IMG_1459

I see a lot of celebrities in my restaurant. Some really BIG celebrities. It’s almost a daily occurrence where I work. And no, I’m not going to dish on them, only to say that most celebrities that I’ve run into are good to great tippers and are friendly and grateful of their continued celebrity. After all, many of them probably started as servers somewhere, and about the worst thing that can happen to a celebrity is not being a celebrity anymore. Sure, it’s a pain for people to interrupt their dinners with sudden appearances at their tables (fortunately, this doesn’t happen very much at our place). But the best celebrities handle it with aplomb and take it as part of the territory. After all, the alternative is that they’re so washed up that nobody pays attention, right?

Oh yeah, hats off to New York city cabbies. That has to be a bitch of a job a lot of the time. Treat your cabbie well, no matter where he or she drives.

2 responses to “My hero – Jon Stewart!

  1. SkippyMom June 10, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    I loved that post about Jon Stewart – I remember reading it a long time ago. I didn’t think she was posting anymore, how did you stumble across it?

    [Last I heard she had written a book and gone “on tour”]

  2. teleburst June 10, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    It’s weird. I was googling the phrase “Jon Stewart on tipping”. I thought that I might find something that I could use at some point (thinking that he MUST be on the siade of the angels). That’s the only relevant thing that popped up.

    Hope that you’re enjoying the blog and that you will continue reading and perhaps tell a friend or 100.

Leave a Reply

