So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

Thanks to Jim for his plug on my post on phở

I’m very grateful to Jim for mentioning my post on that great Vietnamese dish, phở.

I didn’t know that I was capable of writing an encomium. I must be a hell of a writer!

Seriously, just a note about that post. It was a knee-jerk reaction to a mailing-list characterization of phở as “bland” (or something like that). I fired off that post in about 20 seconds, so it wasn’t intended to be a carefully constructed or well-considered piece of literature. But I stand by it. I basically posted it as-is/was, with the exception of editing out a mailing-list specific reference, which wouldn’t make sense to the casual reader.

And 10 bonus points to those who get the mussels reference.

I’ve also been meaning to link to Jim’s blog for a while. Since I don’t do politics (in general) on this blog, it’s sort of slipped my mind.

Jim is a staunch libertarian and is part of Unqualified Offerings, a blog focusing on the libertarian weltanschauung. You’ll find the link in my blogroll and at the bottom of this post.

Me? I’m left of center, and this leaks out every once in a while on this blog. However, I have some libertarian impulses, and, if I weren’t generally a bit of a leftist, I would probably be a libertarian. Yes,  I read Ayn Rand in high school but the philosophy didn’t take. Hmmm, that sounds patronizing – it isn’t meant to be.

Anywho, this is one of the blogs that leans Right that a Leftist can read and learn from. It’s unlike those many hate mavens like Debbie Schlussel that wave the flag in one hand and the Constitution in the other but ignore the First Amendment by the suppressing contrary opinions expressed through readers’ comments.

I highly suggest that you give the blog a spin, no matter what your politcal bent. Heck, any blog that uses a cute dog to entice readers can’t be all bad, can they?

zachreposes20090807

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://highclearing.com/

Leave a Reply

