So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

Are you a happy waiter?

A very nice post about the joys of waiting tables from the inspiration blog Living in the Storm:

“I will not claim that a waiter has the happiest job in the world, but I have sure seen some happy waiters. If you consider the work they perform, it should be easy to imagine their joy. You may not see it quite yet, but it seems so obvious to me. The overall function of their job is to give people what they want. This can be said for many professions, but a few things stand out about waiters. They often come into our lives when we are having good times with friends, celebrating, or just meeting to share a meal together. They are there to help us feel good, and extinguish our hunger. They are really a lot more important to us than it may seem at first glimpse”.

Read the rest of the article here:

http://livinginthestorm.com/2009/09/are-you-a-happy-waiter/

happy waiter

Photo courtesy of http://www.flickr.com/photos/still_learning/

2 responses to “Are you a happy waiter?

  1. Pseudo Waiter March 31, 2010 at 9:02 pm

    Everyone loves a happy person period. Miserable curmudgeons are a depressing lot. In the hospitality profession though, most waiters are only really happy when their last table leaves. Yes we work in a lively social environment, but most of the smiles are acting. The reality of it is that we are not waiting, we are serving, and serving the public is tough business. I generally try hard to keep my spirits up and add levity to the night. I think I am a pretty happy waiter now that I am down to 2 shifts a week, but I am still incensed, insulted, or livid once a night. It’s just part of the deal.

    • Duyen September 30, 2011 at 7:31 pm

      hi
      I’m a waitress too. I work in Vietnam. Have you ever been here? Your writing make me think my job . It’s a nice share . Thank you

Leave a Reply

