So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

End of the month uniform check

Well kids, it’s that time of the month again.

At the end of every month, you should give your uniforms a good, close inspection. You should use a keen eye to observe signs of wear and tear. If you do this once a month, you probably won’t be caught with your pants down, so to speak, by a manager who has to tell you that your uniform is lacking in some way. Once you get into the habit, it’s almost routine. this doesn’t replace checking out your uniform before you put it on every day – it’s a really close look to see what’s going to have to be replaced soon.

On my inspection this weekend, I’ve noticed that I’ve got no more than 2 months left on my shoes. I’ll be buying a new pair while I’ve got the money instead of having to wake up one morning to find a rip where the top meets the sole. who knows – I might not have the money at the time. Best to take care of it now.

I’ve had to throw out two shirts. Time to buy two of those puppies as well. And the tie is getting a bit pilled, so I’d better have a backup ready.

I’d rather buy things on my own schedule than have the gods of wear and tear thrust buying on me.

Leave a Reply

