So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

“Great waitresses are always counter-intuitive”

usat_logo2

From USA Today:

“I never waited tables or worked a deli counter. Many of my friends did during college and said it was the hardest job they ever had.

It was probably just as well the opportunity never came my way. I’m not very good at taking orders. I like people. It’s the public I have trouble with.

But if you work behind the counter at a coffee shop, the public is what you get. The hope, I assume, is the public turns into people who turn into friends.

A book out this week, Counter Culture: The American Coffee Shop Waitress, pretty much proves that true.

Faye Blackwell of Trio Restaurant in Washington, D.C., for instance, says: ‘If a customer comes in three times, I consider them a regular. By then I know their name, what they eat, if their mother is ill, or if they need surgery.’ ”

Read the rest of the article here:

http://www.usatoday.com/life/columnist/finalword/2009-09-01-coffee-shop-waitress_N.htm

Waitress_Poster

Leave a Reply

