So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

Stick to the gameplan

I find that when I make mistakes waiting tables (and I certainly still do, even with all of my experience),  it’s because I get out of my routine.

It might be writing something on my captain’s pad out of its usual place.

It might be trying to cut a corner in service.

It might be not listening to my “inner waiter”.

In any case, it’s important for new servers especially to establish a routine. Keep the abbreviations consistent. Put all of your order writing in a reliable order. Don”t cut corners unless it’s absolutely necessary. Don’t try to reinvent the wheel. And stay absolutely focused even in the face of tall weeds or adversity.

Above all, don’t be a hero. It’s a team game.

2 responses to “Stick to the gameplan

  1. SkippyMom December 28, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    “Don’t reinvent the wheel” Good advice – unless you can suggest something that would make service more fluid.

    I like the advice regarding writing tickets too.

  2. teleburst December 28, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    The ticket thing is from painful recent experience. I ran out of room when writing stuff and put a sald abbreviation where I normally wouldn’t. When I scanned ticket as I put the order into the kitchen, I missed the salad. Embarassing.

    Don’t reinvent the wheel referred more to doing it on the fly as an improvisation. Sometimes you get lucky, but better to work it out as you suggest – as a considered change done with full deliberation and preferably not done as a lone wolf sort of thing, but with input from other team members and management.

    PS, i hope you go back and read my Southern post again, because I think you misunderstood the tone of the post (which was probably just faulty writing on my part – I did add something to help clarify it a little bit).

Leave a Reply

