So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

Recipe of the day – Dutch’s Wicked Baked Beans

Here’s the recipe for perhaps the best baked beans you will ever eat, courtesy of The Smoking Meats Forum:

6-8 strips of bacon cut into 1/2 inch squares
1/2 Medium onion, diced
1/2 Bell pepper, diced
1 – 2 Jalapeño Peppers, diced (seeding is optional)
1 – 55 ounce can Bush’s Baked Beans
1-8 ounce can of pineapple chunks, drained
1 Cup Brown Sugar, packed
1 Cup ketchup
1/2 – 1 Tbs. dry (ground) mustard

Sautè bacon pieces in fry pan until crispy and remove from pan with a slotted spoon. Sautè onion, bell pepper and jalapeño pepper until tender.

In a large mixing bowl combine beans, pineapple, brown sugar, ketchup and dry mustard. Stir in bacon pieces and vegetables. Pour into a 12X9 or a deep 9X9 aluminum baking pan. (While mixing if things look dry, add additional ketchup 1/4 -1/2 cup at a time)

Place in a 220-250° smoker for 2 1/2 to 3 hours (make sure temperature of the baked beans reaches 160° ) or place in a 350° oven and bake for 1 hour.

NOTE: If you are making these beans as a side dish for Kansas City style pork ribs, smoke the removed skirt meat for 1-1 1/2 hours, then dice the skirt meat and stir into the Baked Beans.

My notes – I use Bush’s Original Baked Beans. You can use other brands, but the best thing is to use the simplest baked beans recipe for consistency. Other kinds, like “Homestyle” or “Country Style” or other brand specific variations often only have more sugar, bacon, spices, etc.) You’re going to add much of that yourself. I’m not saying that they’ll turn out bad – feel free to experiment if you like. I just like having a certain flavor profile to start with. Also, I always keep some Memphis-style smoked pulled pork in the freezer to season food, and this is no exception. I add a good amount of the smoked pork. I also make a rocket fuel version of this to which I add pepper extract. I have this stuff called “Da Bomb” that has 234,000 Scoville units, it’s almost the same as a Habanero. I only have to add a dab of it (this is a scientific measurement that describes about the size of the end of 2 Q-tips). I always have to label this as “dangerous”. People love it though. Sometimes I add some of my dry rub as well, especially if I’m serving it with pork that used the rub. And sometimes I add a little BBQ sauce or substitute BBQ sauce for the ketchup. It all depends on my mood.

PS, if you have one of those cast iron flat-bottomed woks that people use for BBQ grills, this works really well as a cooking vessel. I’ve got one and you can make a huge portion in one of those. Or, you can do an homage to Dutch and use a Dutch oven. I’m surprised that he didn’t recommend it as an option as it would have been apt. Of course, the real reason he suggested using a baking pan was for space. Both a wok and a Dutch oven take up a lot of space. Using a flat pan allows you to cook it at the same time as you smoke other things. I use the wok a lot because I tend to finish smoking pork butts in an oven anyway and I can put the wok into the Weber and use the remaining coals to cook the beans and anything else that I’m planning to smoke. 

And here’s the thread dedicated to discussion of these beans. I include it because there are some variations that are discussed that you might find interesting:

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50945&highlight=wicked+beans

And the forum is a great one for people interested in smoking various foods (there are even forum sections that are good for vegetarians).

So, let’s all raise a cooling glass of beer to Dutch, the moderator who invented this recipe and who cooks on one of these Lang 60s, the F-150/Silverado 1500/Ram 1500 of the smoking world:

5 responses to “Recipe of the day – Dutch’s Wicked Baked Beans

  1. Mark S January 5, 2010 at 3:45 am

    Who knew making beans could be so involved? I just had the best beans I ever had at a Democrats Abroad function down here in Melbourne… So good I had to hit the guy up for the recipe. I’ve posted it on my blog just now: http://markandmarjorie.blogspot.com/2010/01/beans.html

  2. teleburst January 5, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    Talk about “involved”! Your recipe looks great.

    You probably don’t have Bush’s Baked Beans down under, do you?

    Next time you make there beans, you should try pineapple in it. The pineapple really makes the Dutch’s Wicked Beans dish shine, especially if you light it up with jalapenos. I made the beans the other day and I used “Da Bomb” pepper extract in addition to seeded and ribbed jalapenos (375,000 Scoville units, my friend). The jalapeno was just in the for the flavor, not so much the heat.

    If I didn’t use Da Bomb, I would have used whole jalapenos or maybe a habanero, because I like it fiery hot.

    Also, if you ever smoke pork butt or shoulder, it’s always a good idea to freeze a baggie of it to use in recipes like this. Works like the ham hock, except it’s even better IMO, especially if you use a dry rub on it and get a nice bark. I also toss in a little of the rub as well.

  3. Dutch September 23, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    Several of my friends told me my recipe for Wicked Baked Beans were posted here and told me to check it out. Nice to see a blogger giving credit where credit is do. I’ve seen my recipe posted on other sites where the blogger is taking the credit as if they created the recipe.
    Hope you all get a chance to give thise beans a try-

    Thanks-

    • teleburst September 23, 2010 at 1:15 pm

      Hey Dutch, no problem. I’m a member of the forum and have enjoyed my participation in the forum (haven’t particpated lately though). I’m glad that you don’t mind that I posted it here. I’ve had quite a few people tell me that they are the best beans they’ve ever had. My boss at work pestered me for the recipe as well. Also, the chef at my restaurant said that he loved them as well. I recommend this recipe to everyone I can because they are the most awesome beans on the planet!

Leave a Reply

