So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

New link added – “How not to do things”

I’m a pretty snarky guy. I show flashes of it here occasionally, but I play it fairly straight in general (if you actually think I’m pretty snarky based on what you read here, then I suspect that your tolerance for snark is pretty low).

So I appreciate someone who lets their snark flag fly free.

Van Der Vecken (or vandervecken as he or she bills themselves) is just that creature. Maybe it’s the Dutch or Belgian background. People who are forced to wear wooden shoes and lace can develop an acute sense of playful gruffness.

vandervecken (I’m going with this spelling because, first, it’s easier and I don’t have to press the shift key which will probably add minutes to my life when it’s all said and done, and second, it looks better, perhaps it’s a tropical finch or the Dutch word for the “pleasure of driving”) will make you chuckle through the blog “How not to do things”. The title is a giveaway that you’re in for some pleasant hectoring. Taking on neocons, craigslist and “Food Knowitalls” in equal measure, I suspect that this “nagelneu” (German for brand new, it literally means “new as a shiny nail”) blog is going to be a force to reckon with.  Adding to that, vandervecken isn’t afraid to comment on this very site and has had the good sense and impeccable taste to add me to the blogroll within mere months of the blog’s inception.

No, there’s no quid pro quo. I would have added it even if my own blog wasn’t linked. And, there’s the added fact that the blog has a similar look and feel to my original “Parchment” Word Press format. So it almost feels like home.

Alright everyone – vandervecken is our people. I hope that the new kid on the block continues striking back at life’s little idiocies. Time to raise a glass of brandy as Churchill would. After all, vandervecken is a kindred spirit. I suspect that vandervecken would salute the Churchill saying, “We occasionally stumble over the truth but most of us pick ourselves up and hurry off as if nothing had happened”.

http://vandervecken.blogspot.com/

One response to “New link added – “How not to do things”

  1. vandervecken January 23, 2010 at 12:16 am

    Jeez, man, a whole post? And a picture of Churchill? I wanted to say thank you very much for such a nice shout out. I will make a small attempt to return the favor by noting that it was enjoying your blog and the venerable “Waiter Rant” that got me going.

    Churchill, BTW, is the source of one of my favorite quotes: “Success is the ability to fail repeatedly and not lose faith.” That has gotten me through many busy Saturday nights and Valentine’s Days.

    Van Der Decken [or vandervecken] was the captain of the Flying Dutchman.

    Thanks again for the nice welcome!

Leave a Reply

