So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

First 10% tip in a while

Today at lunch, I got the first 10% tip all month. In fact, I can’t remember the last one that I’ve gotten. In fact, it was my only table.

$10 on $107.

So I walked with $7. That means I made about $6/hr for lunch. Including my $2.13/hr wage.

But before you accuse me of whining, I should note that I made $218 last night. That’s about $50 an hour.

Lesson?

It all evens out in the end.

If it doesn’t, you’re working in the wrong place. Or you’re working in the wrong job.

I guess my real bitch with the 10% tip is that I definitely went out of my way to go the extra mile. One person had to be out by a certain time and wanted to order early. I was able to time the table’s meal so that they could all eat together instead of ordering her entree so that sh got it with everyone else’s salad course (which is what she wanted).  She actually ordered her entree before the 4th person showed up. By looking at the order and watching the clock, I could tell it wasn’t necessary, but I spent a lot of nervous energy watching one of the others nibbling on her salad. Had she frittered away more time, I was prepared to bring out the early orderer’s entree before everyone else’s.

But it was timed perfectly.

Of course, had I known that I was going to only get 10%, which is basically an insult tip in the face of great service, I would have simply ordered the first lady’s entree and plopped it down as soon as it was ready.

I did get a slight measure of revenge though. The lady who paid ordered coffee. I made sure that I didn’t come back to offer her a refill. I made sure that I could be seen in case she wanted to call me over, but she never did, so I got to bus a dead empty coffee cup that never saw fresh coffee after the first cup.

Lesson for you potential diners. In the US, 15% is the minimum that you should tip for good service. 10% is considered an insult tip unless it’s warranted by poor service.

3 responses to “First 10% tip in a while

  1. Maribelle June 29, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    As I say every time I see a post that mentions tipping, there are very few things that will make me tip under 15%, and in California the sales tax is 9.25% now (MORE depending on your county), so doubling that is almost 20% itself.

    My husband, on the other hand, would rather NOT wait for the bill and just GUESS at what it is and tip on top of that. I prefer to make him suffer so we can tip properly.

    That said, the service in this post seemed like it would warrant 20% – someone was being a pain in the ass that day or only had 10$ in cash in their wallet or something, perhaps.

  2. FairTipper February 26, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    Crybaby shitpants! Tipping is not mandatory you know. Be lucky you even got 10%. Wait staff like you really piss me off.

    • teleburst February 26, 2012 at 5:44 pm

      Yes, I let even idiots who can’t pick out an accurate screen name and still tied to the anachronistic AOL bloviate. Isn’t that nice of me?

Leave a Reply

