So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

My Labor Day observations backed up by “More Bread, Please”

http://morebreadplz.blogspot.com/2010/09/asshats-rated-pg-13.html#more

Yes, another restaurant slammed the Sunday night before Labor Day. Here’s where most people get it wrong:

“Started off SLLLOOWWW, which was to be expected as it is the night before labor day and we have been having some AWESOME weather lately, so we all figured that people would be out at the lake rather than sitting in the restaurant trying to shove fish down their mouths.  We figured wrong”.

“By 7pm, we were wall to wall.  Not a wait, but a steady stream of folks that would be come in right as you thought you were done for the night”.

It’s logical, but fallacious. I discussed the realities that undermine that assumption in this post from last year:

https://teleburst.wordpress.com/2009/09/03/labor-day/

“But don’t get fooled. Remember what I said about the day before a major vacation – it’s often times busier than you might expect. As the day before Labor Day always falls on a Sunday, a day that is traditionally already a bit slower than most, it’s easy to get lulled into a sense of false security. One thing about the Sunday before Labor Day, it can surprise you. This is because some people have family and friends who travel in to participate in the hallowed Labor Day Cookout. Because the grand feast happens the next day, some of these folks will go out the night before because they want someone else cook for them and they want to start their Labor Day in an institutional social setting. And the hosts like to be distracted from all of the prep work that they’ve done prior to The Cookout.”

I was going to post again about this subject before Labor Day this year, but forgot. I’ll try not to make the same mistake next year. I always go into the Sunday night before Labor Day expecting to be busy. Last year, it was busier than anyone expected (except me, of course) and yet, due to a vindictive manager who isn’t around anymore because he was caught stealing, I only made around $90 while all around me made good money. I’ve never talked about this particular manager on the blog, a manager who admitted privately to others that he deliberately screwed me over whenever he could, but, guess what? He’s gone, disgraced, and I’m still standing. He cost me literally thousands of dollars, but sometimes waiting out a situation like that can be rewarding.

Finally, I would have commented about my Labor Day post at More Bread, Please, but there’s a problem – if you want to comment, you’re automatically logged in under your Facebook name. As I choose to be anonymous, that’s a non-starter.

Anyway, I think I’m going to post one of my “change of seasons” posts quarterly because I think that waiters need to be mentally prepared for those times where the restaurant gets kick-started out of its routine.

2 responses to “My Labor Day observations backed up by “More Bread, Please”

  1. Bread September 17, 2010 at 9:40 am

    Thanks for the shout! And yes, I shoulda known🙂

  2. skippymom September 18, 2010 at 4:23 am

    I love “More Bread Please” but that facebook log in is the reason I never comment. Hey Bread can you do something about that? Thanks😀

Leave a Reply

