So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

Housekeeping note

The use of the term waiter on this blog is non-gender specific. It refers to both male and female food servers.

If you have a hard time thinking of a waitress as a waiter, just mentally add the -ess suffix on the end.

That is all.

3 responses to “Housekeeping note

  1. Marta Daniels September 23, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    Would you be interested in reviewing my ebook “How to be a Better Restaurant Customer” on your blog? If so, email me and let me know and I can email you a free copy. God bless!

  2. theinsidewaiter September 24, 2010 at 1:09 am

    It’s kinda like actor and actress.

    An older friend of mine argued, “why just because of women’s liberation do we have to get rid of all the women designated words.”

    I think she had a point, but, I like using the masculine form of the word(s) for both men and women.

    People are actors.
    People are waiters.

    Lots of people are BOTH!

    • teleburst September 24, 2010 at 8:50 am

      I would reply to your older friend, “Well, we don’t have to get rid of those words, but why should words like that be gender-based in the first place? Unlike a language like German, our nouns aren’t reliant on gender”.

      I’d also say, “Gender-based words can carry a bias. For instance, for some, the word waitress conjures up an image of a Flo-like character, someone who waits on you in a diner, while the word waiter implies a professional in a tuxedo”. I’m not trying to say that people who wait in diners are any less professional than those who wait in fancy restaurants, but there’s that perception by some. It’s a class warfare thing.

      I don’t object to the word waitress specifically, but I try not to use it very often. I don’t demand that others follow my lead or that the word be dropped from the English language.

      Of course, it’s weird to refer to someone who works at Hooters as a waiter, which shows that the carryover of bias is very strong. Hooters food servers are professional, thank you very much. They just have to jump through more hoops than we do (literally!).

      Finally, if a female food server is proud to be called a waitress, I say GREAT! I hope they don’t feel that I’m being dismissive by not following suit. That’s not my intent at all. They should refer to themselves however they wish.

Leave a Reply

