So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

I waited on you and all I got was this silly pen.

Well, sorta.

There’s little that bugs me as much as someone taking my pen. I find it annoying, dishonest and thoughtless. You wouldn’t nick a mechanic’s wrench, would you?

But I found something that annoys me even more. and I’ll have to say that this was a first.

The other day, I actually had a guest who took my Pilot G-2 07 gel pen and left me a cheap, advertising pen. Maybe it was unintentional but I don’t think so. He saw his chance to snag one of the best disposable pens around and ditch a cheap, no-cost, crappy pen that he probably has a drawerful of. Maybe he thought that it would be good promotion for his business. Or maybe he thought that it was a good way to ditch a pen that someone else had foisted on him.

Regardless, the comapny is screwed because I would now never use their services, nor would I recommend them to anyone. I would name them here, but I can’t be 100% sure that it’s actually the company that he works for.

I would have thought that I’d find some small comfort in at least getting a pen in return, but I find that it actually bugs me more than he he simply stolen my pen.  Additionally, I’m not allowed to present an advertising pen to a guest, so it’s useless in my work. It now will knock around the house as a last-ditch pen.

So, here’s to you, asshole. I’m glad that you tipped me 17% but the least you could have done is leave me 20% instead of doing some torturous calculation.

After all, you got a really nice gel pen from me and all I got was a silly T***ourse green shitty pen.

Goodbye old friend.

6 responses to “I waited on you and all I got was this silly pen.

  1. tipsfortips October 26, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    Whenever someone pulls this I just give it to the bussers.

  2. Nick Boodris October 27, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Okay. This made me laugh! Please check out my latest post and your welcome to try out my healthy coffee.

  3. nativenapkin November 2, 2010 at 11:17 am

    At a steakhouse I used to work at we were required to have 4 silver Cross pens in our jacket every night. Even is you find them on EBay, they are around $8 each. Needless to say, you kept an eye on them when they went down on a table. Many servers had been known to chase guests down at the valet station to get their pens back. And it was easy to tell when someone had done the “pen switcheroo”.

  4. dray April 18, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    G2 pilot pens are my favorite and are more expensive than your average pen. I have had at least 10 stolen from me , now I know better and only use them for myself and now only give my customers the shitty pens. Cheap bastards buy your own pens!

  5. Ri May 28, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    I never comment on this stuff but I just had too. Pilot G-2 07 is my pen I use for everything and when someone uses it I just about wanna rip off their heads. It’s my pen -.-

Leave a Reply

