So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

Been a while…

This is the longest lapse of posting since I started this blog.

It wasn’t intentional, but I’ve had a dearth of inspiration for writing about the art of waiting tables, or even writing about the restaurant business.

Last year was a return to the earnings of years before the great financial crisis, at least in my restaurant. We had a banner year and it trickled down to the staff.  So, no complaints there. In fact, just the other night, I walked with the most money I’ve ever walked with for a double.

No, probably just needed to not obsess on the mechanics of waiting tables. Try to get recharged.

I’m not there yet, but I’m on a trickle charge at the moment. Seems like I’ve covered most of what can be covered from an “aha moment” sort of perspective.  Hopefully, some of you have taken this pause in the action to check out some of my earlier posts and hopefully, they’ve given you food for thought.

In the meantime, I suggest that you check out The Hospitality Formula at: http://hospitalityformula.com/

This is an evolution of the great blog, Tips For Improving Your Tips, the link of which can still be found in Ye Olde Blogroll. I’ll be adding the above link to the blogroll shortly and I’ll probably keep the old link there as well as long as it takes you to the earlier version of the blog.

This blog covers a lot of the same waiter territory as I have in the past, only it’s not as rambling, convoluted  or “personal” as some of my posts can be. And, with the expansion of the blog to cover all aspects of the hospitality industry, it’s a great go-to inspirational and instructional resource for everyone in the industry, especially waiters.

I hope you check it out and spend some time there as you wait for my battery to load.

Hospitality Formula

One response to “Been a while…

  1. tipsfortips January 24, 2011 at 9:43 am

    Thank you very much for the kind words. I took a nice hiatus from mid December to the second week in January. Turns out that trying to launch five new blogs and write double duty during the Holiday season was a bit overwhelming. Glad to see you back!

Leave a Reply

