So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

I’m still here!

Yes, dear reader, I’m still around…

You see, at the moment I’m stuck without an actual internet account.  I’ve got this way cool new Droid X which is a lot easier to type on than the ole Eris, which was a perfectly fine phone but a little too small to type on. This is better but it’s still a bit of a chore to type a substantial post on it.

But I thought I should at least check in to my loyal readers.

For a little real content, I thought that I’d mention that Charlie Rose did a food oriented show tonight (4.14.2011), interviewing Gabrielle Hamilton, the owner of Prune, the acclaimed NY restaurant, who has written a memoir, Jonathan Waxman, chef/owner of Italian restaurant Barbuto, and one of the most inspired chefs in the world at the moment, Spanish chef Ferran Adria.

It’s a show worth checking out on his site in the next couple of days.  Rose is someone who relishes gastronomy and believes in the power of communal dining. I suspect that he wishes he could have spent time at table with Dorothy Parker in her prime.

Anyway, this modest post has taken almost 20 minutes to thumb out on the virtual keyboard (I don’t text so I’m not one of those speedy thumbers) so I think I’ll call it a night.

I’ll be back soon. Indeed I will…

Update on May 13th (Friday the 13th)…apparently this post never made it out of the draft status. Hence another downside of trying to update this sort of blog on a mobile device, no matter how hand it is. I”m at a real keyboard right now on an actual internet account and as I check the blog, I find that the original update never made it to blog.  How embarassing.

I still haven’t picked up a broadband account for my home yet, so it will still be a while before I get back to posting regularly. So I suppose I should exhort you to check your uniform, continue to evaluate your strengths and weaknesses and contine to dive into the archives.

In the meantime, hang in there waiting tables. May the fork be with you.

2 responses to “I’m still here!

  1. Marthas Vineyard Seafood May 19, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    Thanks its always good to have some insight on how my wait staff feels. Thanks for the inside scoop, it can only make me a more likeable employer.

  2. Steven July 19, 2011 at 9:49 am

    How are you doing? Just wanted to pop by and say hello to a waiterfriend.

Leave a Reply

