So You Want To Be A Waiter

The best book on waiting tables that you have never read – yet

Top Ten Things a Manager Doesn’t Want To Hear From a Waiter

10. Am I cut yet?

9. Why are you cutting me?

The previous two are often related to the waiter’s finances…

8. My battery’s dead (I’ve got a flat tire, there’s a wreck on the freeway and I’m stuck, I can’t find my car keys, ad nauseum).

7. I forgot to ring in 23’s entrees. Can you go talk to them please?

6. Sorry, I misread the schedule. I’ll be there as soon as I can.

5. I need to talk with you privately after the shift.

4. I was sure she said medium well, not medium rare.

3. Here’s the tip of Kelly’s finger. You might want to look in on her in the kitchen. She’s bleeding like a stuck pig.

2. Don’t you worry – corporate will be hearing about this.

And the number one thing a manager doesn’t want to hear from a waiter:

1. No, I can’t work Sunday brunch.

Leave a Reply

